Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year, Heather Villaloboz and Eva Cantu, were surprised at their homes by Alvin administrators and members of the Alvin ISD Education Foundation.

Although Alvin ISD teachers haven’t physically been in their classrooms since March, their hard work has not gone unnoticed.

That’s why it was important for Alvin ISD to hold their annual Employee Recognition Ceremony virtually this year.

“Even though we cannot all be together to recognize our amazing teachers, staff members, and retirees, we wanted to still be able to honor them for their hard work and dedication to the District,” shared Carol Nelson, Alvin ISD Superintendent.

“Earlier this week, we got the opportunity to go around to the homes of the Teachers and Rookie Teachers of the Years and the campuses where the Paraprofessionals and Department Employees of the Year are working, to surprise them with their plaques and yard signs. It was great to get their surprised reaction even in these unprecedented times.”

On the evening of Thursday, May 21, the community was able to tune into the Alvin ISD Facebook or YouTube page to watch district employees receive the recognition.

 The campus teachers, rookie teachers, and paraprofessionals of the year who were selected from their campus were recognized, before a candidate from each category was selected to represent the district.

Eva Cantu of Alvin High School was named the Secondary Teacher of the Year.  She teaches Family and Consumer Sciences and has been with the District for 20 years.

On the elementary level, Heather Villaloboz of Bob and Betty Nelson Elementary was selected as the Elementary Teacher of the Year. She teaches 4th grade and has just completed her 19th year in Elementary Education.

The district also honored Rookie Teachers of the Year  Emily Cole, from Manvel Junior High, and Kallie Holtkamp,  from York Elementary. Cole was named Secondary School Rookie Teacher of the Year while Holtkamp received the Elementary Rookie Teacher of the Year honor.

Ashley Minton of McNair Jr. High was chosen as the Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year.

On the elementary level, Brittany Swope of Passmore Elementary was honored as the Elementary Paraprofessional of the Year.

In addition to the employees of the year, department employees of the year, retirees, service awards recipients, principals of the year and Education Foundation grant and scholarships winners were recognized.

Alvin ISD offered congratulations to the following:

•  Elementary Principal of the Year: Tina McCorkle, Jeter Elementary

•  Secondary Principal of the Year:  Ashley Marquez, Nolan Ryan Jr. High

•   Elementary Counselor of the Year:  Stacy Huffman,  Pomona Elementary

•  Secondary Counselor of the Year: Kimberly Johnson, Shadow Creek High School

•  Custodial Operations Employee of the Year: Esther McCool

•  Maintenance and Operations Employee of the Year: Pedro Sanchez

•  Grounds Employee of the Year: Juan Gonzalez

•  Child Nutrition Employee of the Year: Yolanda Salyer

•  Transportation Employee of the Year:  Connie Hammond

•  Police Department Employee of the Year: Diego Olivarez

•  Technology Services Employee of the Year: Timothy James.

Alvin ISD campuses have the option to nominate one outstanding educator, paraprofessional, and rookie teacher each campus winner submitted an essay.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.