The Class of 2020's top students have been named.

Alvin ISD's high schools and the Alvin ISD Education Foundation held a virtual meeting on Firday, April 17, to announce and recognize the Alvin High School, Manvel High School, Shadow Creek High School and ASSETS (RISE) Academy top students of the Class of 2020.

Alvin High School principal Karen Taylor, announced the names of their school’s top twenty students.

Valedictorian for the Alvin High School Class of 2020 is Jodie Aguirre, while Grace Koenig holds the honor of Salutatorian.

The following students fill the remainder of the top 20 spots: Sion Jang, Benjamin Radigan, Payton Neubauer, Amaru Ordonez-Jacobson, Olivia Horton, Kearsten Kimbrough, Colby Patterson, Leah Nelson, Julissa Medina, Ashton Taylor, Justin Gana, Dylan McCoy, Cody Kettler, Cathey Shewmake, Shelby Boyd, Lyssa Peltier, Madison Casares, and Paige Smith.

Principal Brandy Johanson and counselor August Lee announced the top two students at ASSETS (RISE) Academy.

 Jazalyne Soza is the 2020 valedictorian, while Giselle Alvarado is the salutatorian for the academy.

Aeniqua Flowers, principal of Manvel High School, announced that the following students are the top 20 students in the Class of 2020 at Manvel High School: Valedictorian is Ethan Marfil and the Salutatorian is Dan Returan while Kevin Gonzalez Leal, Tristan Becnel, Mackenzie Kasprzyk, Justin Johnson, Stefanie Catalan, Brionna Boyd, Michael Attathikhun, Ryan Rhodes, Amanda Mason, Hailey Kieu, Rachel Vineyard, San Juana Juarez, Maxine Woods, Belinda Clarice Oducado, Emily Hooks, Hamza Aziz, Jacob Burch, and Khari-Alexis Bing make up the remaining top twenty students.

Kelly Hestand, principal at Shadow Creek High School, announced the top twenty students for the Class of 2020.

Valedictorian for the class is Preksha Vaghela and Nikita Singh is the Salutatorian. The following students hold the next 18 spots: Sajan Dayal, Alexander Cessna, Divyaa Cherian, Lekha Surapaneni, Christopher Pham, Nila Shibu, Melinda He, Minhngoc Dongchau, Nathan Hgo, Vishnu Sadagopan, Arveen Galvan Adap, Smriti Korampally, Jonathan Tranh Nguyen, Deborah Jacob, Christina Lewellyn, Stephen Mgbemeje, Julia Randall, and Sabrina Thomas.

Due to the current circumstances, the Alvin ISD Education Foundation will not be able to honor these 62 students at the annual Celebration of Academic Excellence Banquet, but plans are in the works for an alternate way to recognize these students including placing Top 20 Student yard signs in the yards of these amazing students.

AISD superintendent Carol Nelson and members of the Alvin Education Foundation delivered yeard signs to the selected students on Friday, April 17.

Nelson also held a virtual meeting with the students to help motivate them.

Although all schools will be closed through the end of the academic year, per Gov. Greg Abbott's order, AISD still plans on holding graduations.

The district has ASSETS' graduation scheduled for May 22 at the Alvin High School Performing Arts Center,

The rest of the schools are scheduled to hold their graduations on May 24 at NRG Stadium.

Earlier this month the district named its paraprofessionals, rookies and  teachers of the year.

Alvin ISD campuses have the option to nominate one outstanding educator, paraprofessional, and rookie teacher to receive the Campus Teacher of the Year, Paraprofessional of the Year, and Rookie Teacher of the Year titles.

Because the Teacher of the the Year campus winners are eligible to advance to regionals, each one was asked to submit an essay explaining why they should be chosen to  represent Alvin ISD at the Region 4 level.

This year, the Teacher of the Year Committee worked hard to determine the top 10 finalists, five elementary, and five secondary, who would interview for their chance to be the overall district winner.

AISD plans to honor the nominees and winners at a May 21. Employee Recognition event.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.