Victoria Valdez All-State

Lady Jackets' junior catcher Victoria Valdez gained first team all-state honors in Class 6A from the Texas Sportswriters' Association last weekend.

(File photo)

Coming off her first team selection to the NFCA All-South Central Region squad a week earlier, Alvin Lady Yellowjackets’ junior catcher Victoria Valdez collected all-state first team accolades in Class 6A from the Texas Sportswriters’ Association  last weekend.

The 23-6A’s most valuable player batted  a lofty .531 with a 1.109 slugging percentage, a 1.812 on-base plus slugging percentage, six HR’s, 34 RBI’s, 20 Runs scored, a 985 fielding percentage, 11 doubles and was walked 29 times for area playoff finalist Alvin, as well.

Valdez’s selection highlighted the TSWA’s six area picks for AISD. Alvin sophomore shortstop Reagan Jones earned a third team nod in 6A, as did Manvel Lady Mavericks’ senior first baseman Riley Bennett  in Class 5A. Honorable mention nods in 6A went to Lady Jackets’ sophomore first baseman Roni Harrison and junior outfielder Chloe Foster, along with Shadow Creek senior shortstop Haleigh Carter.

Jones batted a lofty .485 with seven home runs, 48 RBI’s and 44 runs scored, while Bennett carried a .451 average at the plate with six HR’s, 31 RBI’s and 10 doubles. Harrison batted .426 with 43 RBI’s and 25 runs scored and Foster collected 33 RBI’s and crossed the plate 34 times to complement her .463 average. Carter batted .625 during 23-6A play with 15 RBI’s and 21 runs scored.

TSWA player of the year honors went to Deer Park pitcher Hannah Benavides in 6A and Barbers Hill hurler Sophia Simpson in 5A, while Park’s Amy Vidal-Bush and Hill’s Aaron Fuller captured the 6A and 5A state coach of the year awards, respectively.

Valdez was also among 32 players selected to the NFCA’s All-South Central Region team.

Joining Valdez on the South Central’s first team was pitchers Jordyn Bahl (Papillion-LaVista High School, Nebraska), Emily Guthrie (Lone Grove HS, Oklahoma), Emma Strood (Clear Springs) and Jessica Adams (Bryan); catcher Jacque Adams (Bryan); first baseman Katie Cimusz (Atascocita); second baseman Kayla Falterman (The Woodlands); third baseman Alexa Langliers (Keller); shortstop Aver Hodge (Fort Bend Christian Academy); outfielders Kramer Eschete (Brenham), Payten Schibbelhute (Piedmont HS, Oklahoma) and Cassidi Mullen (Royse City); utility player Brooke Johnson; and at-large picks Kinsey Fieldler (Lee’s Summit North HS, Missouri) and Hailey Golden (Pearand).

The second team selections included pitchers Ella Schouten (Rock Bridge HS, Missouri), Alexis Telford (Allen), Cierra Harrison (Lee’s Summit North HS, Missouri) and Nijaree Canady (Topeka HS, Kansas); catchers Elizabeth Moffitt (Prosper) and Sydney Lewis (Prosper); first baseman Sydney Lewis (Prosper); second baseman Ashley Smetter (Lincoln Southwest HS, Nebraska); third baseman Gabby Coffey (Prosper); shortstop Brianna Evans (Red Oak); outfielders Kasidi Pickering (Atascocita), Alannah Leach (The Woodlands) and Gabby Davila (Pearland); utility player Bailey Lindemuth (Burleson Centennial); and at-large picks Katherine Lott (Cy Woods) and Alexis Rodriguez (Bryan).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.