Alvin High School had six student-athletes inked their collegiate letters on intent for the National Signing Day period on Feb. 10 at the AHS Competition Gym.

The signings give AISD of total of 45 student-athletes, who will taking their athletic talents to the next level. Manvel and Shadow Creek completed their signing ceremonies at their respective high campuses on Feb. 5.

The Yellowjacket signing list featured Jodie Aguirre (Brown University, Softball); Mariah Byone (Centenary College of Louisiana, Basketball); Andrew Gormly (Texas Luthern University, Football), Kaitlyn Kincaide (Galveston College, Softball), Shae Montemayor (University of St. Thomas-Houston, Softball) and Mary Pourcio (Letourneau University, Softball).

Shadow Creek led the way with 24 signees, while 15 inked the dotted the line for the Manvel Mavericks. Alvin’s signing day took place on Feb. 10 after the Advertiser went to press.

The Sharks’ list included 12 individuals from the state champion football team, while the Mavs had 13 players, who will be taking their gridiron talents to the next level.

The signees for Manvel and Shadow Creek are listed as follows:


Boys’ Track - Caleb Malbrough (University of Houston).

Football - Jalen Paxton (Tulsa); Vinson Brown (Southern Mississippi); Tucker Yarborough (Navarro College); Micah Sesay (West Texas A&M); Xavier Carter (Wyoming University); Donovan Eaglin (Michigan State); John Abernathy (Blinn College); De`undre Potts (East Central University); Bernie Celaya (North American University); Keelan Cox (Grambling University); Anthony Boose (Concordia of Nebraska University); Demtrius Foley (Mesabi Range); and Kameron Lewis (North American University).

Swimming - Molly Spano (Southwestern University).

Shadow Creek

Boys’ Basketball - Trey Hartfield (Texas A&M Texarkana).

Girls’ Basketball - Jaylah Davis (Pacific Union College); Sydney Herbert (Pacific Union College); Sydni John-Baptiste (Dillard College).

Football - Jeremiah Harris (Kansas State University); Seth Jones (Baylor University); Ronald Triplett (Kansas State University); Warren Shankle (Prairie View A&M University); Beau Burns (Eastern New Mexico University); Courtney Brown (Columbia University); Damien Jackson (Midwestern State University); Chancellor Byers (Kilgore College); Terreance Ellis (Rice University); T.J. Marshall (University of Houston); Greg Brown (University of New Mexico, early SC graduate); Alec Bryant (Virginia Tech University, signed in December); and Xavion Alford (University of Texas, signed in December).

Golf - Vishnu Sadagopan (Texas A&M University).

Girls’ Soccer - Regan Forrest (Austin College) and Olivia Brown (UT Permian Basin).

Softball - Zara Bennet (Prairie View A&M University) and Sydney Macias (East Texas Baptist University).

Volleyball - Alexis Williams (Jackson State University); Halle Sanders (St. Edwards University); and Arianne Renaud (Sam Houston State University).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.