A total of six area players from AISD were named to the Greater Houston Area Coaches Association’s 2020 Postseason Volleyball teams.

Alvin Lady Yellowjackets’ senior outside hitter Teresa Garza and Shadow Creek Lady Sharks’ senior setter Michelle Murphy were both named to the Class 6A squad, while the Manvel Lady Mavericks’ foursome of senior outside hitters Aryn Johnson and Hailey Turner, junior middle blocker Mary Kate Preston and junior middle blocker Devyn Lewis were selected to the 5A team.

Garza delivered 310 kills, 420 digs, 58 aces and 25 blocks for 2020 with the University of Wyoming signee tallying 875 kills for her high school career.

Murphy paced the Lady Sharks in assists (618), aces (40) and digs (206).

Johnson blasted an impressive 300 kills, along with 300 kills, 279 digs, 97 assists, 39 aces and 27 blocks. Preston provided 128 kills, 89 blocks and 26 digs. Johnson closed her high school career with 1,451 kills and 1,089 digs.

Turner compiled 240 kills, 267 digs and 28 aces and Lewis provided 183 kills, 82 digs and 30 aces.

The GHVCA also featured 18 area players on its all-academic list. Making the list for Alvin was Blakeli Ducksworth, Ana Garza, Addison Hanson, Marrik Hooker, Lindsay Parthum, Anni Shewmake, Mackenzie Strban and Hannah Webster.

The Lady Mavs’ duo of Emily Altamirano and Jayden Walker was chosen as well, and the Shadow Creek recipients included Chioma Aguoru, Haleigh Carter, Nicole Domingo, Sarah Du, Ella Hestand, Murphy, Aria Rideaux and Kamryn Tate.

Both Alvin and Shadow Creek advanced to the 6A bi-district round with the AISD programs finishing third and fourth, respectively in the district. The Lady Jackets edged the Lady Sharks in a five-set thriller, which decided the third and fourth playoff seeds in 23-6A.

Manvel finished as the runner-up in 22-5A with a 14-2 record and went 20-6 overall with playoff victories over Crosby and Lamar Consolidated.

Other players named to the 6A team included Trinity Funderburk (Astascocita), Clarke Adams (Bellaire), Emily Adams (Bridgeland), Jessica Frannea (Bridgeland), Kayla Griebl (Cinco Ranch), Brianna Zamora (Clear Creek), Reaghan Thompson (Clear Creek), Mia Johnson (Clear Falls), Blakely Montgomery (Clear Falls), Rachel Brown (Clear Falls), Brooke Braham (Clear Lake), Alana Dawson (Clear Springs), Shyia Richardson (Clear Springs), Mallory Madison (College Park), Lindsey Kriendler (Cy Creek), Bekah Portalatin (Cy Fair), Annalle Heliste (Cy Fair), Kailee Gims (Cy Ranch), Bianna Muoneke (Cy Ranch), Kiyah Felder (Davis), Alana Torres (Dawson), Alexia Jones (Dawson), Kamryn Scroggins (Dawson); Phoebe Stigen (Deer Park), Tatum Smith (Deer Park), Bailey Tillman (FB Austin), Gabrielle Johnson (FB Austin), Logan Lenicky (George Ranch), Allie Sczech (George Ranch), Avery Shimaitis (George Ranch), Sarah Sampson (Grand Oaks) Fallon Thompson (Grand Oaks), Hannah Hoover (Katy), Perris Key (Katy) and Jordan Gamble (Katy).

The player awards for 6A went to Annie Antar, Klein (Offensive Player of the Year); Maddie Waak, Katy (Setter of the Year); Devan Taylor, Klein (Defensive Player of the Year); Ashley Richardson, Clear Springs (Newcomer of the Year); Ally Batenhorst, Seven Lakes (Player of the Year); Seven Lakes (Team of the Year); and Amy Cataline, Seven Lakes (Coach of the Year).

The 6A squad was rounded out by Chandler Lee (Katy Taylor), Megan Wilson (Kingwood), Sophie Ocampo (Kingwood), Kierstyn McFall (Klein), Gaby Mansfield (Klein), Ariana Brown (Klein), Jenna Karp (Klein Cain), Kendall Buish (Klein Cain), Mekaila Aupiu (Klein Collins), Kirby Kliafas (Langham Creek), Mecca Freeman (Mayde Creek), Logan LeRoux (Memorial), Kingsley Wallace (Memorial), Lyla Traylor (Memorial) and Taylor Odum (Memorial), Julia Neveu (Oak Ridge), Piper Boydstun (Oak Ridge), Jenna Gray (Pearlnad), Jordan Maeker (Pearland), Zoe Cruz (Pearland), Nina Moorer (Ridge Point), Sydney Jordan (Ridge Point), Nylah Raspberry (Ridge Point), Mayo Olibale (Seven Lakes), Kailey Bickel (Seven Lakes), Emma Schroeder (Seven Lakes), Casey Batenhorst (Seven Lakes, Alexis Anderews (Stratford), Marjani Stanfiill (Stratford), Nina Terry (Stratford), Jozie Dhayer (Summer Creek), Imari Wilson (Summer Creek), Claire Arend (The Woodlands), Jacqueline Lee (The Woodlands), Clara Brower (The Woodlands), Makayla Villarreal (Tomball), Emma Moncur (Tomball Memorial), Cindy Tchouangwa (Tompkins), Paris Herrman (Tompkins), Eliana Posada (Tompkins) and Ryan Williams (Travis).

Also making the 5A roster was Kelsi Wingo (Barbers Hill), Naomi Hockless (Baytown Lee), Brooke Bentke (Brenham), Asani McGee (Bryan Rudder), Ana De La Garza (College Station), Keira Herron (College Station), Shreya Sunkari (College Station), Elizabeth Siemek (Crosby), Makenzie Palmer (Foster), Kiley Smink (Foster), Sarah Sitton (Friendswood), Alessandra Meoni (Friendswood), Kate Bueche (Friendswood) , Cierra Pesak (Friendswood), Alexis Dacosta (Fulshear), Skylar Voskuhl (Fulsher), Taylor Kotlarz (GC Memorial), Zoe Martinez (GC Memorial), Alyssa Fielder (Huntsville), Tatianna Evans (Kempner), Erika Williams (Kingwood Park), Anya Arrington (Kingwood Park), Payton Woods (Lake Creek), Madison Blane (Lake Creek), Brynn Botkin (Magnolia) and Freedom Stephenson (Santa Fe).

The 5A player awards went to Ashlyn Svoboda, Friendswood (Offensive Player of the Year); Ava Underwood, Fulshear (Defensive Player of the Year); Ellie Echter, Fulsher (Player of the Year); Faith Lynch, Magnolia (Setter of the Year); Riley Newton, College Station (Newcomer of the Year) and Kaci Street (College Station).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.