Sophomore outside hitter Kaylee Preston was named the newcomer of the year in 26-4A to highlight the Iowa Colony Lady Pioneers’ six selections to the all-district volleyball team.

Preston drilled a team-high 231 kills along with 262 digs and 45 aces to help the Lady Pioneers deliver a solid inaugural season on the court. Iowa Colony went 6-6 in district play, forcing a mini-tournament playoff with Bay City and Sweeny for the third and fourth playoff seeds.

Preston was joined on the first team by freshman middle blocker Aaliyah Rogers sophomore outside hitter Taylor Bonner-Williams, while freshman setter Kaydee Howard and sophomore libero Riley Vincent earned second team nods and freshman Je`Dyn Parker gained honorable mention status.

Rogers stuffed 89 shots at the net during the 2022 campaign and Bonner-Williams provided 89 kills.

Lady Pioneers making the all-academic district list included Reagan Carr, Morgan Frantzen, Adrianna Murry, Howard, Rogers, Vincent and Parker.

Other first team picks included Judah Breazeale (Bay City), Hayley Broussard (Columbia), Lily Castillo (Brazosport), Tayah Davis (La Marque), Deja El-Amin (Brazosport), Lizet Jimenez (Brazosport), Alecia King (Sweeny), Katelynn Lewis (Columbia), Ella Mata Perez (Bay City), Shaylee Robinson (Sweeny), Brooklyn Woods (Columbia), Aniyah Williams (Stafford) and Brianna Yanez (Columbia).

Columbia dominated the individual awards with Kate Kondra collecting the MVP hardware, while Katlin Arnold was voted as the offensive player of the year and Payton Domborsky captured the setter of the year award. The coach of the year honor went to Columbia’s Alyssa Laker.

The second team also featured Ariyana Campbell (Sweeny), Anaya Celestine (La Marque), Cameron Creswell (Columbia), Torriah Goins (Brazosport), Summer Howard (Bay City), Kylah Jones (Bay City), Anne Ihde (Bay City) Caydance Lobdelli (Sweeny), Kori Patterson (Stafford), Jazelyn Peoples (Brazosport), Natali Reyes (Brazosport), Madison Rios (Sweeny) and Natali Sharp (Columbia).

Rounding out the honorable mention list for 26-4A was Na`kya Barnes (Sweeny), Taliyah Bell (Columbia), Relena Davis (La Marque), Kelly Deleon (Bay City), Cherish Elder (La Marque), Gensis Kay (Columbia), Kaelyn Kopecky (Bay City), Sincere Johnson (La Marque), Jacque Lene Jones (Bay City), Kinda Lopez (Brazosport), Aubrey Martinez (Brazosport), Izabella Morales (Stafford), Jayla Nolan (La Marque), Keona Pipkins (La Marque), Amaya Waddy (Brazosport), Kendal Lockler (Brazosport), Chesnee Mathis (Brazosport), Larissa Reynolds (Sweeny), Kaley Smith (Sweeny) and Cierra Turner (Sweeny).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.