AISD Playoff teams Alvin and Shadow Creek combined for 20 player selections to the All-District 23-6A Softball team.

Junior catcher Victoria Valdez earned most valuable player honors to highlight the 23-6A Champion and area finalist Lady Yellowjackets’ district best six picks to the first team. The retiring David McCorkle, who completed his sixth and final season at Alvin, was named the league’s coach of the year.

Valdez was joined on the first team by junior pitcher Allie Armstrong, senior second baseman Khori Bolton, sophomore shortstop Reagan Jones, senior outfielder Jordyn Frederic and junior outfielder Chloe Foster (at-large pick).

The Lady Shark outfield duo of junior Jillian Gutierrez and sophomore Moriah Polar were both named to the first team, as well.

Alvin also received six selections to the second team.

Pitcher Kanoe Cleland was joined by sophomore first baseman Roni Harrison, junior third baseman Izzy Farmer, freshman outfielder Kiley Huffman, designated player Shelby Stone and utility pick Kamryn Deleon.

Shadow Creek freshman hurler Leila Heredia also made the second team cut, along with junior catcher Grace Atchison, first baseman Holly Vollman and senior shortstop Haleigh Carter. Lady Sharks’ third baseman Celeste Luna and junior outfielder Nevaeh Harvey both gained honorable mention status.

Alvin went 27-6 overall, capturing the 23-6A crown with an 11-1 mark and advancing to the area round after sweeping Clear Creek in bi-district. Shadow Creek finished as the third playoff seed from 23-6A.

Other first team selections included pitcher Abigail Gutierrez (Pearland); catchers Makenzie Wright (Dawson) and Bella Rodriguez (Pearland); first baseman Hannah DeLaRosa (Dawson); third baseman Olivia Johnson (Dawson); outfielder Gabby Davila (Pearland); designated player Darian Deleon (Pearland); at-large picks Gigi Solis (Dawson) and Kristyn Whitlock (Pearland); and utility player Perla Lopez (Elsik).

Dawson freshman Cara Pittman was also tabbed as the league’s top newcomer.

Second team nods also went to catcher Samantha Rodriguez (Hastings); second baseman Bella Mata (Dawson); outfielders Lily Macias (Dawson), Alayna Calvillo (Pearland) and Blessing Ogunbumi (Taylor); at-large picks Haley Golden (Pearland), Kennedy Drafton (Pearland) and Sa`Mya Jones (Dawson) and utility player Brooklyn Malone (Dawson).

The honorable mention field was rounded out by pitchers Baleigh Borden (Dawson) and Elizabeth Castillo (Taylor); catcher Jamiselle Contreras (Taylor); first baseman Nardia Spencer (Elsik); third basemen Raenna Liscano (Pearland) and Favor Udegbunam (Hastings); shortstops Alaina Hampton (Pearland) and Shayla Strickland (Hastings); outfielder  Grace Tang (Elsik) and utility player Danalyn Mullen (Dawson).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.