Senior outside hitter Ana Garza was named the offensive player of the year to highlight the Region III-6A Area Playoff Finalist Alvin Lady Yellowjackets’ eight selections to the All-District 23-6A Volleyball team.

Garza drilled a district high 529 kills (4.9 per game) to complement 410 digs, 48 blocks and 39 aces. The Houston Christian University signee was joined on the first team by senior outside hitter Mackenzie Strban (who also signed recently with Schreiner University in Kerrville), junior middle blocker Wylie Singleton and junior setter Korrigan Wright.

Strban delivered 343 kills, 469 digs, 39 aces and 35 blocks, while Singleton provided 248 kills, 125 digs, 97 blocks and 36 aces and Wright dished out 950 assists and 259 digs.

Senior libero Coryn Breaux and senior middle blocker Cara Saenz were both named to the second team for Alvin and defensive specialist Aubry Anderson and freshman Corynn Williams each made the honorable mention list.

The 23-6A third seeded Lady Yellowjackets went 27-15 overall and picked up their first playoff victory in seven years with a 25-23, 27-29, 28-26 and 25-23 four-set bi-district triumph over Clear Creek.

The hitting of Garza, Strban and Singleton paved the way for the Lady Jackets to race out to another big cushion in the fourth set at 10-2, while back-to-back aces by Wright helped them maintain that eight-point cushion a little bit later at 21-13.

After Strban’s kill put Alvin at match point, Ella Holder’s spike brought Creek within 24-23. However, the Lady Wildcats were then called for a net violation to send the Lady Jackets to the second round of the playoffs for the first time since 2015.

Bi-district playoff finalist Shadow Creek landed six player selections. Sophomore outside hitters Mackenzie Collins and Kelly Kelsick were both named to the first team, while senior setter Jadyn Murry and freshman Simon Robinson gained second team nods and honorable mention status went to senior outside hitter Kelsea Dorsea and senior defensive specialist Haley Smith.

Collins provided a team-high 408 kills along with 123 digs and Kelsick added 306 kills and 422 digs. The Sharks went 21-20 overall and finished as the fourth seed in 23-6A.

Pearland’s Maddie Whitehead earned most valuable player honors, while Lady Oiler Mia Ramirez collected the defensive player of the year hardware and Pearland’s Avery Koonsen shared the newcomer award with Dawson’s Addison Moss.

Other first team picks included Carter Galley (Dawson), Ava Kennon (Dawson), Kimanni Rugley (Pearland), Allie Schwartz (Pearland) Amyah Weatherby (Alief Hastings) and Cora Wolford (Pearland).

Second team nods also went to Meredith Beeson (Dawson), Lauryn Brown (Alief Hastings), Maddie Dement (Pearland), Kennedy Jones (Dawson), Heaven Paris McKey (Alief Hastings), Rachelle Reed (Pearland) and Kailey Theford (Dawson).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.