The regional semifinalist Shadow Creek Lady Sharks and Manvel Lady Mavericks both provided deep playoff runs in the Class 5A Girls’ Basketball Playoffs and the two area squads were rewarded with a combined 13 player selections to the All-District 24-5A Girls’ Basketball team.

Sophomore point guard R`mani Taylor shared most valuable player honors with Hightower’s Destini Lombardi, while Lady Sharks’ junior forward Bre`yon White earned defensive player of the year honors and SC’s LaToya Micheaux was tabbed as the league’s top coach.

Taylor and White were joined on the first team by Lady Shark teammates Brooklyn Brown (sophomore) and Da`Nae Williams, (junior).

Lady Maverick senior post Ashlynn Freeman and sophomore Jordyn Marshall were named to the first team, as well, while sophomore guard Jade Miller and senior guard Daniela Perdomo each gained second team berths for Manvel.

SC junior post Riachel Anderson and Lady Sharks’ senior forward Sydni John-Baptiste also each made the second team cut. Kaia Henry and Milan Jackson gained honorable mention status, respectively, for Manvel.

All-district academic honors went to Anderson, Brown, Jaylah Davis (Shadow Creek), Acacia Edmond (Shadow Creek), Gabrielle Hamilton (Shadow Creek), John-Baptiste, Kyrah Lemon (Shadow Creek), Marshall, Miller, Keneddy  Nedd (Shadow Creek), Perdomo, Laila Polk 

(Manvel), Taylor and White.

The Lady Sharks went a school record 32-5 and won their first ever district crown with a perfect 16-0 mark. Shadow Creek posted playoff wins over Houston Austin (98-20), Galveston Ball (71-40) and Richmond Foster (55-49). Shadow Creek also advanced to the regional tournament for the first time in school history. Advancing to the postseason for the ninth straight year, the 22-13 Lady Mavs finished third in 24-5A and posted playoff victories over Northside (75-21) and Friendswood (62-44).

Other first team selections included Alicia Blanton (Foster), Daisy Chukwu (Hightower), Sharlyne Dimalanta (Foster), Hannah Humphrey (Lamar Consolidated), Morgan Strawder (Hightower) and Desiree Walker (Angleton). Foster’s Imani Ivery was named the district’s offensive player of the year and Consolidated’s Aliyah Solis earned the newcomer award.

The second team was rounded out by Selena Chaney (Angleton), Collins Clark (Foster), Sydney Freeman (Foster), Erineisha Grant (Rosenberg Terry), Jada Grisby (Hightower), Taylor Jarrels (Lamar Consolidated), Shontel Miles (Hightower), K`Mory Price (Angleton) and Jada Kyles-Washington (Willowridge).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.