Senior Davyon Henderson earned special teams player of the year honors in 10-5A for the Division I State Football Quarterfinalist Manvel Mavericks and the coaching staff was tabbed as the league’s best to highlight the Mavs’ 27 all-district selections.

Henderson compiled 258 yards on 10 return, which included exploding for a 94-yard kickoff return touchdown against Hightower.

Manvel also headed the first team selections with seven players being named on the offensive side of the ball and five collecting defensive accolades.

Junior running backs Ty Harris and De`Monte Seymour were joined on the first team offense by senior receiver Jalen Walthall and offensive linemen Jaden Edmonson (junior), Hunter Schroeder (senior), Tevin Shaw (junior) and Anthony Wilson (senior).

Both Harris and Seymour crossed the 1,000-yard barrier on the ground and Walthall came within 104 yards of the feat through the air. Harris carried the ball 148 times for 1,175 yards and 14 touchdowns, while Seymour blazed for 1,004 yards on 108 carries and 14 TD’s. Walthall collected 38 receptions for 896 yards and 12 TD’s.

Junior tackle Xavier Potts made the first team defensive cut, along with junior inside linebacker Tyree Scranton, junior safeties Malachi Mclean and Colin Wright and senior cornerback Jordan Benjamin.

Scranton paced the Mavs’ defense in tackle with 101, followed by Mclean with 78 and Wright with 59.

Junior Brook Honore was named the league’s top punter, as well.

Ranked as one of the nation’s top punters, Honore averaged 33.5 yards per kick with a season-best boot of 55 yards and five kicks inside the 20-yard line.

Senior signal caller Gabriel Larry was selected to the second team offense, as was Henderson at receiver and senior lineman Christen Robinson. Senior end Michael Noubissi and senior defensive back Ben Wilson received the second team defensive nods for Manvel and kicker Antonio Rodriguez made the second special teams’ unit.

Honorable mention status went to defensive ends J.P. Deeter, Josiah Kennard, and Jordon Vaughn, receiver Zion Johnkins and linebacker Jaqai Neal.

Manvel advanced to the state quarterfinals for the second straight season and the 10-5A D-1 Champions posted playoff victories over Beaumont United (63-0), Dripping Springs (38-21) and Hightower (31-7).

The first team offense for 10-5A also featured quarterbacks Phillip Amy (Foster) and Jakolby Longino (Hightower); running back Charles Shelling (Hightower); fullback Randle Kelley (Katy Paetow); receivers Cody Jackson (Foster), Ethan Newton (Foster) and Caleb Douglas (Hightower); tight end Terrance Harrold (Rosenberg Terry) and linemen Demetrius Elko (Katy Paetow), James Bailey (Katy Paetow), Jayson Rouse (Angleton), Eduardo Pineda (Rosenberg Terry), Reuben Fatheree (Foster), Mason Moore (Foster), Darian Jones (Hightower) and Jaden Steele (Hightower).

Terry quarterback Kellen Stewart gained district MVP honors and Paetow running back Damon Bankston was named the offensive MVP. The newcomer award went to Hightower receiver Kaleb Johnson.

The first team defense included tackles Andrew Rutherford (Paetow), Jamie Arriaga (Terry), Kadrion Johnson (Hightower) and Lord Jeremiah Horton (Hightower); ends Agumba Otonye (Foster), Udoka Ezeani (Foster) and Jacob Williams (Hightower); inside linebackers Umar Yaro (Kempner), Keith Fountain (Hightower) and Alex Kilgore (Hightower); outside linebackers Robert Olanlyan (Kempner), Julian Payne (Hightower) and Daymion Sanford (Paetow); safety Kentrell Webb (Paetow) and cornerbacks Kalon Smith (Hightower), Ben Osueke (Foster) and Michael Jordon (Paetow).

Foster tackle Tyler Onyedim was tabbed as the defensive player of the year.

Also making up the first special teams were kicker Anthony Fuentes (Paetow), deep snapper Christian Tomasino (Foster) and returners Latrell Neville (Hightower) and D.J. Johnson (Paetow).

Other second team offensive picks included running backs Kheri Humphrey (Angleton), Xavier Smallwood (Richmond Foster) and Michael Odom (Rosenberg Terry); fullback Jaylon Davis (Hightower); receivers Tarribean Ramirez (Foster), Latrell Neville (Foster) and Kole Wilson (Paetow); tight end David Marry (Paetow); and linemen John Campos (Hightower), Donovan Allen (Hightower), Ronald Smith (Hightower) and Austin Yeager (Foster).

Rounding up the second team defense was tackles Taoriq Alli Balogun (Foster), Zak Yassine (Kempner) and Chad Okpara (Kempner); ends Tristen Price (Angleton), and J.J. Johnson (Paetow); linebackers Luke Capel (Foster), Cole Tipton (Foster), Cameron Bradford (Hightower), Sultan Bakare (Paetow), Tyler Silves (Paetow) and Juan Rodriguez (Terry); and defensive backs Anthony Jackson (Angleton), Jacobi Williams (Foster), Ethan Kappes (Foster), Carl Simon (Paetow), K.J. Truehill (Paetow) and Jeremy Strawder (Hightower).

The second team special teams’ unit for 10-5A was comprised of kicker Armando Ventura (Hightower); punter McKenzie Miller (Kempner), deep snapper Ian Lyon (Paetow) and returner Kentrell Webb. (Paetow).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.