Quarterback Kyron Drones earned unanimous most valuable player honors in 10-5A to head the 21 all-district selections for the Class 5A Division I state football champion Shadow Creek Sharks.

SC’s Brad Butler was also named the coach of the year and sophomore running back Kelvon Brown received the newcomer of the year award.

Shadow Creek completed the 2019 season with a perfect 16-0 record and also delivered AISD’s first ever state football crown. The Sharks have gone an amazing 31-1 over their first two years of varsity play, which have included back-to-back trips to the state finals.

Playing his first season under center as the Sharks’ QB, Drones passed for 3,390 yards and 46 touchdowns with only 10 interceptions, while compiling 825 yards on the ground and 18 TD’s. 

The junior signal caller gained offensive MVP honors in the 28-22 title victory over Denton Ryan with 320 yards of total offense and two TD’s.

Brown rushed for 912 yards and 11 TD’s.

SC teammates joining Drones and Brown on the first team offense included linemen Greg Brown, Damien Jackson and Caleb Leonard; receivers Carlton Guidry and Jared Jackson; and place kicker Eric Landaverde.

Guidry hauled in 25 receptions for 612 yards and nine TD’s and Jackson collected 592 yards on 36 catches and nine TD’s. Landaverde converted on 61 of 64 of his PAT attempts.

The Sharks also led the 10-5A first team defense with eight selections. Senior ends Alec Bryant and Ronald Triplett were joined by outside linebackers Courtney Brown and T.J. Marshall, inside linebackers Jeremiah Harris and Warren Shankle and safeties Jorge Jones and Jaylen Lane.

Bryant and Triplett combined for 102 tackles and eight sacks, while Brown added 40 takedowns. Marshall chipped in 55 tackles and knocked the ball away from Ryan’s Seth Henigan on the game’s final play in the end zone to preserve the Shadow Creek’s state title win over Ryan.

Harris, who gained defensive player of the game honors against the Raiders, provided a team-leading seven sacks to complement 68 tackles and Shankle led the Sharks’ defense with 79 tackles.

Lane and Jones paced the SC secondary with five and four interceptions, respectively.

Senior tailback Jay`Veon Bell gained a second offensive nod for Shadow Creek, along with senior lineman Josh Martin and sophomore receiver Randy Masters. 

Senior tackle Devante Johnson and junior outside linebacker Terrence Cooks both made the second team cut on defense, as well.

After winning their second straight district championship, the Sharks posted playoff wins over Port Arthur Memorial (49-7), Hutto (63-13), Foster (36-31), Manor (59-14), San Antonio Wagner (45-21) and Denton Ryan (28-22). The Sharks rallied from a 24-7 halftime deficit in the region quarterfinal thriller over the Falcons.

Other linemen named to the first team offense included Joshua Mulcare (Angleton), Reuben Fatheree (Foster), Mason Moore (Foster), Daniel Goolsby (Friendswood), Kolby Sumlin (Rosenberg Terry), Ja`Kerin Price (Texas City) and tight end Matthew Kovacevich (Friendswood). 

The backfield featured fulback JT Anderson (Angleton); tailbacks Jordon Jones (Angleton), Mario Simmons (Foster) and Semaj McCall (Texas City); and quarterback Ryan Stubblefield (Foster).

The receiving nods went to Christian Lee (Friendswood), Nehemiah Noel (Galveston Ball) and Trey Thomas (Hightower), while Luke Grden (Friendwood) was selected at punter.

Receiver Cody Jackson (Foster) was named the offensive MVP.

The first team defensive line also included end Tyler Onyedim (Foster) and tackles Armand Dudley (Angleton), Chidozie Nwankwo (Foster), Kadrion Johnson (Hightower) and Jontel Stevenson (Texas City). The linebacker spots went to Dane Roenne (Friendswood) and Jakari Landry (Hightower) on the outside and Jordyn Rosborough (Hightower) on the inside.

Comprising the secondary was cornerbacks Connor Haines (Friendswood), Moses Alexander (Galveston Ball) and Kobie Campbell (Hightower) and safety Luke Sanchez (Friendswood). Christian Hood (Hightower) was named the defensive MVP,  while Campbell received the return specialist accolade and defensive back Cameron Stone (Angleton) earned the utility POY award.

The second team offensive linemen picks featured Sergio Cantu (Angleton), Ernest Cotton (Angleton), Ryan Mitchell (Friendswood), Elijah Colbert (Foster), Erick Rodriguez (Galveston Ball), Smart Chibuzo (Hightower), Enrique Newman (Hightower), Darian Jones (Hightower) and tight end Bryce Ripple (Angleton).

The backfield included fullback Jay`lon Davis (Hightower), tailbacks Isaac Johnson (Foster) and Noah Palitz (Friendswood) and quarterback Luke Grden (Friendswood).

The receiver corps featured Carter Wilson (Foster), Dawson Johnson (Friendswood) and Kellen Stewart (Rosenberg Terry). The special teams spots went to kicker Christian Cortez (Angleton) and punter David Morales (Texas City).

Linemen making the second team defensive cut were ends Landris White (Angleton), Matthew Reyes (Friendswood), Jacob Williams (Hightower) and Milton Swain (Rosenberg Terry) and tackles Angel Ruano (Angleton), Devon Bouldin (Galveston Ball) and Jonathan Farrell (Friendswood).

Manning the second team linebacker stations were Dequeon Thomas (Angleton) and Joseph McCarty-Davis (Texas City) on the outside and Jose Rodriguez (Angleton), Ricky Rich (Foster) and Ryan Helton (Friendswood) on the inside.

Rounding out the secondary was cornerbacks Trayvon Smith (Angleton), Ben Osueke (Foster) and Corday Williams (Texas City) and safeties Anthony Jackson (Angleton), Jayden Oliver (Foster) and Eddrin Rogers (Hightower).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.