The area round playoff finalists Manvel Mavericks and Shadow Creek Sharks delivered a combined 14 player selections to the All-District 24-5A Baseball team. 

Mavs’ senior hurler Eric Benitez shared pitcher of the year honors with Angleton’s Josh Hyatt, while Sharks’ shortstop Ben Greer was named the league’s most valuable offensive player. Greer also received the top offensive honor last season when Shadow Creek played in 23-5A. 

Benitez struck out 48 and posted a team-leading 1.51 earned run average on the hill and Greer batted .462 with 24 RBI’s, 41 runs scored, two home runs, seven doubles and eight triples. 

Manvel teammates joining Benitez on the first team were junior second baseman Dillon Novak, senior third baseman Myles Simmons and senior outfielders Parker Carruth and Jackson Sweeney. 

Pitchers Lloyd Richards (junior) and Sebastian Soliz (sophomore) also made the first team cut for SC, as did junior first baseman Warren Shankle. 

Manvel sophomore shortstop Isaiah Walker gained a second 


 team nod, while the area honorable mention picks were rounded out by Joseph Gomez (Shadow Creek), Aidan Griggsby (Shadow Creek), Ethan Munoz (Shadow Creek) and Vincente Robledo (Manvel). 

The Mavs also had six players make the all-district academic team, which included Benitez, Landon Donley, Novak, Riley Palomarez, Simmons and Walker.

Manvel went 15-15 overall and finished as the third-place seed in 24-5A, topping Waltrip in a one-game bi-district playoff contest. 

The Sharks made the postseason for the first time in school history as the district’s fourth seed. Shadow Creek went 19-10-1 overall and swept Houston Milby in the best-of-three bi-district playoff series. 

Other first team picks included pitchers Jackson Schwank (Richmond Foster), Stanley Tucker (Lamar Consolidated) and Ashton Tweedle (Angleton); catcher Daelan Caraway (Willowridge); shortstop Gavin Baird (Angleton); designated hitter Colby McDaniel (Rosenberg Terry); and outfielders Reece Burke (Richmond Foster), Tanner Davis (Angleton), Colby Alvarez-Mitchell (Rosenberg Terry) and Chance Van Cleave (Richmond Foster). 

Foster catcher/pitcher Cade Sitka was named the league’s overall most valuable player, while the defensive MVP went to Angleton’s Ethan Ebner, the newcomer award went to Foster’s Chase Allbright and the coaching staff accolade went to Angleton. 

Rounding out the second team were pitchers Dylan Garcia (Rosenberg Terry), Isaiah Garcia (Rosenberg Terry), Caleb Jackson (Angleton), Colby Lock (Lamar Consolidated) and Brandon Naivar (Richmond Foster); catcher Thomas Brannon (Angleton); first baseman Noah Crowell (Angleton); second baseman Mustafa Hatamleh (Lamar Consolidated); third basemen Christian Carter (Fort Bend Willowridge) and Brian Martinez (Rosenberg Terry); shortstop Daniel Ivbievbiokun (Fort Bend Hightower); outfielders Lucas Barrera (Fort Bend Hightower), Seth Cosme (Angleton), Jacob Flores (Richmond Foster), Jose Jasso (Fort Bend Willowridge), Zack Medart (Angleton) and Jakon Sosnowski (Lamar Consolidated); and designated hitter Jonas Kirkpatrick (Angleton). 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.