Defensive end Theo Randle was named the most valuable player to highlight the area finalist Shadow Creek Sharks’ league high 27 selections to the All-District 23-6A Football team, while the Alvin Yellowjackets received 13 picks overall.

Yellowjackets’ senior Dayshawn Peterson was an unanimous first team selection at tailback, while tackle Maki Lowe received an unanimous first team nod at defensive tackle. Peterson and Lowe were joined on the first team by center Finn Madding, offensive guard Yahir Meza and punter Ray Razo.

Peterson motored for a district-best 1,469 yards and 17 touchdowns with his 96-yard scoring run in week two here against Cleveland being the second longest TD run in school history.

The 6-2, 195-pound also became the fourth Alvin running back ever to rush for back-to-back 1,000-yard campaigns.

Shark teammates joining Randle on the first team included offensive tackle Tyson Kestner, offensive guard Marquis Yancy (unanimous), center Marcus Kemp, tailback Tylik Burton, receiver Josh Best, defensive end Zion Taylor, defensive tackle Mitchel Craney (unanimous), outside linebacker Sean Gilbert (unanimous), inside linebacker Robert Edmondson (unanimous), cornerback Brian Nelson, safety Maurice Williams (unanimous) and kicker Aiden Bui (unanimous).

Randle delivered 35 tackles, eight tackles for losses, two sacks and 12 hurries, while Gilbert provided a team best 64 tackles, 11 TFL, three sacks and three hurries. Taylor compiled an impressive season at end as well with 24 tackles, seven TFL, seven sacks and 12 hurries.

Bui converted 58 of 62 extra points and was five of eight on field goal attempts with a long of 41 yards.

Sharks’ outside linebacker Anthony Williams was also tabbed as the newcomer of the year and the Shadow Creek coaching staff was recognized as the district’s best as well.

Second team nods for Shadow Creek went to offensive guard AJ McDaniel, offensive tackle Calvin Peete, fullback Caleb Washington, tailback Jacob Washington, receiver Dane Jones, outside linebacker Scott Koumado, inside linebacker Nic King, cornerback Aiden Benjamin and safety Corey Swiney.

Yellowjackets gaining honorable mention status were receiver Joseph Palermo, offensive linemen Juan Juarez and Bradley Eernisse, running back Cole Erdnt, linebacker Darius Wilson, defensive lineman Liam Binger and defensive backs Hunter Kneifel and Sesar Lomeli.

The honorable mention list for Shadow Creek included defensive end Darius Moon, quarterback Jacorey Watson and safety Zyran King-Brooks.

Shadow Creek went 11-1 for the season and 7-0 in district play with the 23-6A champions posting a bi-district playoff win over Brazoswood. Alvin went 4-6 overall for the season and 2-5 in district play.

The first team offense also featured tackles Ebuka Okafor (Alief Taylor), David Escobedo (Dawson) and Grant Peru (Dawson); guards Oke Akpoborie (Elsik), and Amara Sylla  (Elsik); tight end Chico Holt (Strake Jesuit); fullback Juan Marines (Pearland); tailbacks Devin Baylor (Strake Jesuit) and Josh Earl-Smith (Alief Taylor); receivers Bricen Brantley (Alief Taylor), Patrick Bridges (Pearland), Josh Gills-Harry (Dawson) and Jaeden McCleskey (Dawson); and quarterback Bryce Fucik (Strake Jesuit).

Dawson tailback Bryce Burgess received the offensive MVP, while Strake Jesuit receiver Bryce Lanier was named the utility player of the year and Pearland tailback LaDamion McDowell was selected as the offense’s top newcomer.

The first team defense also included ends Edward Smith (Dawson) and Collins Simson (Alief Taylor); tackle Pierce Yamba (Alief Taylor), outside linebackers Charley Germany (Alief Taylor) and Jordan Harrison (Dawson); inside linebackers Zander Winter (Pearland) and Jackson Cody (Dawson); cornerbacks Lazarus Range (Pearland), Davion Horton (Alief Taylor) and Chase Davis (Dawson); safeties Bryson Burgess (Dawson) and Ashton Hampton (Pearland).

Dawson tackle Chris Herpin was named the defensive MVP, while Elsik receiver Je`Sean Keys was selected as the top return specialist.

Other second team offense picks featured tackles Tristan Shandy (Alief Hastings), Bennett Connelly (Strake Jesuit) and Michael Akinsonu (Elsik); guards Toby Argo (Pearland), Pablo Membreno (Alief Hastings) and Jonathan Giokas (Pearland); centers Kyle Garvis (Strake Jesuit) and Jayvon Adebo (Alief Hastings); tight end Joseph Garcia (Pearland); tailbacks Kennedy Lewis (Pearland) and Jae`Don Webster (Alief Hastings); receivers Ret Thibodeaux (Strake Jesuit), Christian Pitts (Pearland), Braylon Howard (Dawson) and Terrance Naulings (Alief Taylor); and quarterback Collin Johnson (Dawson).

The second team defense was rounded out by ends Jaden Wincher (Pearland), Hope Tita (Alief Taylor), Collins Okafor (Alief Hastings) and Charles Anderson (Dawson); tackles Logan Lorenz (Strake Jesuit), Junior Moma (Elsik) and Daniel Harding (Elsik); outside linebackers Jerimah Treadaway (Dawson) and Andre Duke (Pearland); inside linebackers Matthew Lumpkin (Pearland) and Malcom Haven (Alief Taylor); cornerbacks Gabriel Sheppard (Strake Jesuit), Gabe Hyzak (Strake Jesuit) amd Maxwell Menendez (Dawson); safeties Aaron McCardell (Alief Taylor) and Cole Anderson (Pearland), place kicker Jackson Stagg (Pearland) and punter Jadon Downs (Pearland).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.